those graduates joining the British Army, the privilege of one year's seniority is granted in the British or Indian Armies. This has been arranged in order to equalize the seniority of graduates of the Royal Military College of Canada with those of Woolwich or Sandhurst, since the course at the latter institutions is shorter than the Canadian. Positions in the Public Works Department, Hydrographic Surveys, etc., may also be obtained by graduates. Several Canadian universities admit graduates to the third years of arts and science courses.

III.—PUBLIC WORKS.

Since Confederation and before, the Department of Public Works has been known as the constructing Department. In 1879 the railways and canals were placed under control of a new Department, the building and maintenance of penitentiaries were transferred to the Department of Justice, the maintenance and construction of lighthouses to the Marine and Fisheries Department, and the smaller drill halls and armouries to the Department of Militia and Defence. The work of the Department of Public Works is now divided into three principal branches, viz., the Engineering Branch, the Architect's Branch and the Telegraph Branch.

Engineering.—The Engineering Branch conducts the construction and repair of wharves, piers, breakwaters, dams, weirs, bank and beach protection works, the improvement of harbours and rivers by dredging, the construction, maintenance and operation of government dredging plant, the construction and maintenance of graving docks, the construction, maintenance and working of slides and booms, the construction and maintenance of interprovincial bridges and approaches thereto, and of bridges on highways of national importance in the Northwest Territories, the maintenance of military roads, also hydrographic and ordinary surveys and examinations, inclusive of some precise levelling and geodetic measurements which are required for the preparation of plans, reports and estimates, the testing of cements, etc. The Branch has charge of about 1,845 harbour works, 5 graving docks, 4 slide and boom works, interprovincial bridges, 39 dredges and 200 tugs, scows and other dredging plant.

Architecture.—The Architect's Branch builds and maintains Government buildings, post offices, customs houses, examining warehouses, and constructs quarantine, immigration and experimental farm buildings, armouries, military hospitals and drill halls, land offices and telegraph offices. The most important public buildings now under construction are the new Houses of Parliament and the addition to the Archives building at Ottawa.

Telegraphs.—The Telegraph Branch has control over the construction, repair and maintenance of all Government-owned telegraph lines and cables. These lines are located in the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia and the Yukon.

Graving Docks.—There are five graving or dry docks built and owned by the Canadian Government. The dimensions of these docks are shown in Table 8. The dock at Kingston, Ontario, is under lease to the Kingston Shipbuilding Company. The dock at Lauzon, Quebec, east of the old dock, is 1,150 feet long, divided into two parts (650 and 500 feet respectively), and 120 feet wide; it has a depth at high water of 40 feet. It cost about \$3,850,000. A new dock is under construction at Esquimalt, B.C.; the dimensions are given in Table 8. Under the Dry Dock Subsidies Act, 1910 (9-10 Edw. VII, c. 17) several docks have been subsidized by payments of 3 or $3\frac{1}{2}$ p.c. per annum on the original cost for a given number of years, as shown by Table 9.